• The Organization of Islamic Capitals and Cities (OICC) is an international and non-profit organization affiliated to the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC). The Organization has no political involvement and does not interfere in the affairs of any state, and whose activities are focused solely on achieving its established goals. 

  • The OICC was established in 1980 (1400 H), and its headquarters are located in the Holy City of Makkah Al Mukarramah and its General Secretariat is based in the city of Jeddah, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

  • The OICC is non-profit organization and its financial resources derive from annual membership fees and the revenues on its investments, donations of individuals, institutions, municipalities and governments, in addition to any other resources approved by the Organization.

  • The OICC has a general consultative status to the United Nations Economic and Social Council (UN-ECOSOC). It also has consultative status to United Nations Children Fund (UNICEF) and United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), in addition to its membership in several international organizations.

  • The OICC's working languages are: Arabic, English and French.

  • The OICC's membership spans four continents: Asia, Africa, Europe and South America. The OICC current membership stands at 194, including 165 capitals and cities as active members from 54 Member States of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), 9 observer member cities from six non-OIC member States and 20 associate members from ministries, commissions, research and consultative centers and universities that share affinities with the OICC's activities and objectives.